Pilot districtsPilot districts

For planners and those running programmes on the ground, it is important to have access to information at a local level. With this in mind we identified four district municipalities in which to pilot the mapping child protection services. We held workshops with local stakeholders - community organisations, NGOs, local government and district level officials - in each district to identify relevant services as well as challenges experienced. We met with them again once the mapping had been completed to verify the information.

Across the districts, we found that engaging with local stakeholders allowed us to identify the location of more services than when relying on national lists, but even stakeholders working in the area often had limited information about the available services. But the lack of small area level data on risk and protective factors from either surveys or administrative data made it difficult to map indicators at local level. Click on the links below for more on child protection services in the four pilot districts.

uMgungundlovu District, KwaZulu-Natal

Located in the KwaZulu-Natal Midlands, uMgungundlovu is the second largest municipality in the province after Ethekwini. The seat of uMgungundlovu district is Pietermaritzburg, the provincial capital of KwaZulu-Natal.

More data

Nkangala District, Mpumalanga

Nkangala is one of three district municipalities in Mpumalanga. It borders Gauteng in the west and is home to the towns of Middelburg and eMalahleni (formerly Witbank). Nkangala is rich in minerals and resources and is known for its coal mines, power stations and agriculture.

More data

Sekhukhune District, Limpopo

Sekhukhune is one of five district municipalities in Limpopo. It is located approximately 300km north of Johannesburg. Most of the population live in the numerous scattered rural villages and economic infrastructure is limited.

More data

Ugu District, KwaZulu-Natal

Ugu means 'coast' in isiZulu and is located south of Durban in KwaZulu-Natal. Ugu consists of both small coastal towns popular with tourists and large rural inland areas, many of which are under the leadership of tribal authorities.

More data
© 2022
University of Cape Town
Supported byFirst National Bank